iSpot and recording

Hi, I’m fairly new to both iSpot and biological recording and have been using iRecord to submit records for taxa which I have confidently identified myself, while posting sightings of taxa I am unsure of on iSpot.

As my primary interest is in creating data that could be useful for research or conservation, I’d like to ensure that as many of my sightings as possible end up in accessible records. I have read on the forum that some taxon experts will come to iSpot for data, some create ‘projects’ to collate sightings and that some sightings on iSpot are linked to the NBN atlas…

Should I submit sightings to iRecord after getting a confident ID from an iSpot expert (with appropriate recognition of course)? Or is there a risk of duplicate recordings, or just increasing the data processing burden of BRC staff? If some iSpot sightings automatically appear on the NBN atlas, does this mean some sightings are automatically collated to recording schemes? If so, how do know which ones have been?

Please re-direct me if this has already been addressed in the forum or iSpot help pages.

Many thanks
Jeff

1 Like

This is a tricky one and something all recording schemes face. Some of the ispot data has gone to irecord and some to recording schemes especially if they are producing an atlas or just ask for it. The aim is to get it all onto NBN/GBIF but there are still some technical difficulties and lack of funding for this part.

i have mixed responses from iRecord. I tend to submit (to them) my rarer records and almost always receive a note to suggest unacceptable because not in the known range.
I think you would be MUCH better submitting to your local Biological Records Centre which/who should say whether the record is acceptable and thank you for taking the trouble.
I think it is fine using the reputation system in iSpot to ‘confirm’ your observation.